Tea Loaf

This may be something that your granny used to make, but I think there is nothing nicer to have with your cup of tea in the afternoon, than a slice of tea loaf.  Smothered with butter, jam or even cheese, this tea loaf will stay nice in an airtight container for around a week. I find it best to eat after a couple of days.  I really enjoy this lightly toasted as well!

 

tea loaf

Ingredients

300ml of boiling water with 3 strong tea bags in.  Leave the tea to brew for ten minutes,  then remove the tea bags.
460g Mixed fruit
140g Light brown sugar
250g Self raising flour
1 Egg beaten
1/2 tsp Mixed spice

Optional: You can drizzle some runny icing over the top.

Pre-heat your oven to 180 degrees centigrade.Prepare a 1kg loaf tin with baking parchment.

Place the fruit into the tea and leave for around 2 hours. The fruit then plumps up.

In a bowl place the flour, sugar, egg, mixed spice and fruit mixture then stir well.

Spoon into your tin and bake for around an hour. Check that the centre of the loaf is cooked by placing a sharp knife into the middle. If it comes out clean it is cooked, if any mix if left on the knife, then place back into the oven and cook for a few more minutes.

Allow the loaf to cool before turning out onto a wire rack. When fully cool you can put it into an airtight tin or container.

Drizzle runny icing over the top.

Published by

Emily Glancy

Broadcaster, Author, Writer and Business woman Slightly obsessed with food, health, current affairs and travel. Have far too many interests to list, so I will not bore you. Have a Christian faith and a heart to help others when it is in my power to do so. My saying in life is 'You have only failed if you quit... If you don't quit then you have not failed.'

5 thoughts on “Tea Loaf

  1. I have never heard about tea loaf but it is sounds so delicious!
    I am more in cooking but now I start to learn baking too! And I will try this recipe.. So I don’t have to use milk?

    Please visit and follow my blog (www.lazymomcooking.wordpress.com) or my Instagram (lazymom_cooking) for some recipe ideas 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

