Everyone has to start somewhere!

Why is it, that other people think that when you start something, you should have overnight success?  I touch upon this in my book ‘Yes You Can” Amazon Book Link where people often will not start a new pursuit, hobby, dream or goal, because they are worried that they will be a failure and look stupid in front of others.

This outlook is a major issue, that is holding many people back from being everything they can be.  Wherever I can and are able, I will do my best to encourage others to dismiss the scoffers, mockers and Debbie Downers, who will do everything within their power to halt you in your life journey.  As humans I think we need to have new challenges, and have goals to aspire to,  I read with interest about the young man Markus Persson, who created the highly successful ‘Minecraft’ game, which my youngest son has loved from the moment it was released.  Markus went on to become successful and is reputed to be worth in the region of $2.5bn and yet he writes quite sad tweets… he appears lonely and bored with his lifestyle.  I believe that it is not wealth that is causing his sad outlook, but that he has succeeded in a dream that he always wanted, and now he needs a new challenge in his life.  Personally if I was him, I would be looking for a philanthropic avenue, where I could make a real difference and continue to see that charity or cause grow.  It is not money that gives you satisfaction (although it is nice if you have it) but personal achievement that still challenges you.  A game achievement is great, but once it is achieved you either need to go and work on another game, or find something else.  A goal such as helping the desperate and needy will always be a challenge.  There will always be people who struggle, and so to bring a little happiness into their life is probably the most satisfying.  I have read of many people who have put their wealth and connections to good use.  Markus bless his Swedish cotton socks, may not find much to be philanthropic over whilst sat on a yacht with celebs in Ibiza.  Take him to somewhere like Haiti, and he may just realise that he can have new challenges that will make him grow as a person.

yes you can

So when someone queries your new-found goal, or tries to discourage you before you have even started, just answer them ‘everyone has to start somewhere’, and know that it is not just reaching and being the top of your game that is important, but the journey getting there.  You need to enjoy the development of progression, whether that be fast or slow.  Being a writer is a hard slog at times, but I have every belief that with God and my determination, I will get there someday.  And when I have achieved or are well under way with what I set out to do, then I have already stored in my heart a number of new goals to help others.  I would like that to be now, who wouldn’t?  However, I am going to enjoy my little life adventure and keep pressing on.

If you are sat there now, wondering and pondering if you should pursue you dreams, then I encourage you to start.  As I have said, ‘everyone has to start somewhere’ and also know, that even if it turns out that your dream was not really right for you, then take it positively as a life experience that you have gleaned something valuable from.  Then go and try new things, never stop learning, never stop trying and most importantly never stop growing as a person, no matter how old you think you are.

My book is available to give you more motivational pointers below, is only 99p and wont break the bank!

Amazon.co.uk link

Amazon.com link

Published by

Emily Glancy

Broadcaster, Author and Writer Slightly obsessed with food, health, current affairs and travel. Have far too many interests to list, so I will not bore you. Have a strong Christian faith and have a heart to help others when it is in my power to do so. Loves to give good advice and tips. My saying in life is 'You have only failed if you quit... If you don't quit then you have not failed.'

Leave a Reply

