How To Help Get Rid of Flu and Colds Naturally

I knew at that exact moment when a woman was happily sneezing and coughing over me, I would catch her lurgy!  Why people find the need to share their bug is beyond me?  Simply pulling out a clean tissue and placing it over her mouth and nose whilst in the throes of her cold, would have probably prevented me from getting it.  Now I am in the midst of getting myself well again.

Usually in the middle of September I start my regime to help stave off all those horrible viruses.  So what works for me?  Well, it’s a variety of things but I mainly start by increasing my vitamin intake.  One of the best products that I find helps is Wellwoman Boost energy fizz effervescent tablets.  You plonk one in a glass of water, let it fizz and then drink.  It has a very pleasant peach flavour and contains some great things like Vitamin C, Zinc and B6 and B12.  If I have a stinky cold before starting my yearly vitamin boost, I just increase my vitamin c and zinc, by taking a further supplement until I am over my symptoms.  I then just carry on with my wellwoman boost every morning.  There is a wellman version as well for you guys too, so do not panic.  Another great product is Sambucol which is in a liquid formula and has different types in its range, including extra defence.  I use this amazing black elderberry extract in December and January as I tend to be very busy, stressed and the central heating is on full which is a breeding ground for germs.  Sambucol helps boost my immune system, and to be honest I would not be without it.

dreamstime_xs_300878

During the autumn and winter months it is important to make your diet better.  However tempting stodgy comfort food is, try to keep up your salads and items such as onion (raw if possible) in your diet.

I also find that warming soups like leek and potato or a clear chicken style soup is good.  Let’s also not forget curry which I am convinced helps to fight any cold I get.  There has been research to say that the spice ‘turmeric’ which is a well-known anti-inflammatory, along with a good amount of garlic and ginger can help battle those sniffles.

What about not wearing a coat?  This was a favourite of one of my Grandma’s who said going out without my coat or having damp hair, would cause a cold…  actually the words she used was “I would catch my death of pneumonia”.  This was a huge exaggeration, but certain researchers believe that being subjected to cold (such as hyperthermia) suppresses our immune system.  So maybe if we wrap up warm, and get out walking in the fresh air we will be just fine!

Cold symptoms can make you feel miserable but eating decent food, drinking plenty of water and getting extra vitamins and minerals can help.  There is one other thing that I do and which has the backing of the NHS which is the benefit of lemon and honey.  Cough medicines drain your wallet and do little to ease your cough.  A simple mixture of honey and lemon is what I have used for years.  I sit in a warm bath, sipping the juice of warm lemon, huge dollop of honey and topped up with hot water.  It makes me feel better, is natural and does not break the bank account!

Colds will always be about, but we can certainly make ourselves feel better and help prevent our bodies from getting those pesky viruses.

Published by

Emily Glancy

Broadcaster, Author and Writer Slightly obsessed with food, health, current affairs and travel. Have far too many interests to list, so I will not bore you. Have a strong Christian faith and have a heart to help others when it is in my power to do so. Loves to give good advice and tips. My saying in life is 'You have only failed if you quit... If you don't quit then you have not failed.'

Leave a Reply

