Diabetes – Millions At Risk of Type 2 – Are we Just Greedy pigs?

Diabetes and the increase in the numbers of people being diagnosed with Type 2, has been in the news a lot recently, including today.  Public Heath England estimates that one in ten people in the UK, suffer from high blood sugar levels, which can then be a factor in developing type 2 diabetes.

I am currently embarking on putting on some monthly health and food workshops in my local church, to help people with their lifestyle in general.  It is worrying that many people do not even know how to manage certain illnesses such as diabetes.  Two people I have met with this week, have been given the pills and equipment for diabetes but do not have a clue as to what they should be eating or drinking.  The advice of ‘cut down on your sugar’ is pretty pathetic, considering that there are hidden sugars in some healthier style foods.  Modifying your lifestyle is of MAJOR importance.  To pack people off with their pills and not tell people more about their diet, reducing alcohol and quitting smoking is beyond ridiculous.  The NHS is cash strapped, but I can only see that the figures are going to get worse, unless we tackle the problem.  They say that there are going to be more facilities set up to help with diet and lifestyle concerning diabetes.  I will believe it when I see it, but also just wonder if people have the strength of mind to commit to such programmes?

alcohol

Like everybody else, I like to enjoy my food.  I love baking cakes and treats.  So does this make me a hypocrite?  Well what I will say, is that I can have a treat and let it be a treat.  One small slice of cake per week or one chocolate bar a week is not going to affect me.  I can use self-control and will power, and not eat a whole cake, an entire pack of biscuits or sweets everyday.  But can you?  Sadly (especially where I live) people seem to be gorging themselves constantly, dragging around the weight, smoking and drinking to excess.  I need to be blunt and tell it as it is, but I see that people are becoming more piggy that a piggy!  Youngsters in particular will rolls of fat over their trousers and struggling to walk, is a very sad sight to see.  Even with my own family and friends some will listen, some won’t.  As they say, you can lead a horse to water but you cannot make it drink! If more people kept an honest food diary then I think it may just shock them.  There have been certain shows on TV where people have been exposed to what they have eaten in a week.  Out on huge tables, is all the food they have stuffed into themselves within a week, and their shocked faces are a picture.

I am all for enjoying life, enjoying food and having a treat.  This is not about being skinny (because even some skinny people can have a shocking diet and lifestyle) but about being healthy and well.  Diets, scales and slimming is all good, but I want to see ‘health and fitness’ make a return into people’s lives.  Diabetes is rising and can cause amputations, blindness and strokes.  If your diet and lifestyle is poor, then you may wish to start making some positive changes.

Published by

Emily Glancy

Broadcaster, Author, Writer and Business woman Slightly obsessed with food, health, current affairs and travel. Have far too many interests to list, so I will not bore you. Have a Christian faith and a heart to help others when it is in my power to do so. My saying in life is 'You have only failed if you quit... If you don't quit then you have not failed.'

Leave a Reply

