Lower Sugar Juicing Recipe

Further to my blog post yesterday entitled “To Juice or Not To Juice?’ as promised, I have listed below a juice recipe which is said to contain less sugars.  It is an acquired taste, but if it means that I can avoid some sugar spikes which can happen with fruit juices then so be it.  I still want to enjoy my freshly squeezed orange juice in moderation, which will be no issue to those who like me, have a decent balanced diet.  To sit drinking only juice at every meal sitting for weeks, just because daft celebs do it, is in my opinion not very bright and not something I would advocate.

green juice

It is VERY green which may just put some of you off but if you are into your juicing at the moment then this is another recipe to try out.  It still does not answer the argument about the fibre element that I wrote about, but I know many of you have bought juicers and want to use them.  Mine is now off into the back of my pantry again, as I imagine many others will do after they get bored of it.  I enjoy all the ingredients individually and so want to eat them raw and as whole as possible.  Yes I do eat raw cabbage, and have done for years as a salad.  I cut it up and mix with a little white wine vinegar and olive oil.

So I hope you enjoy this green beast recipe, but also hope vegetable and fruit phobes will start to enjoy such produce as part of a proper meal, so that they can enjoy all the benefits.

The Green Beast

  • 130g Cabbage
  • 2 Pears
  • 1 Celery Stick
  • 30g Watercress

Place all the ingredients in your juicer and whizz up.  It is best served over ice.

Published by

Emily Glancy

Broadcaster, Author, Writer and Business woman Slightly obsessed with food, health, current affairs and travel. Have far too many interests to list, so I will not bore you. Have a Christian faith and a heart to help others when it is in my power to do so. My saying in life is 'You have only failed if you quit... If you don't quit then you have not failed.'

Leave a Reply

